Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Three-cornered leek/Snowbells

Allium triquetrum

This beautiful little flower apparently imported itself from the Mediterranean in the 19th century.  It's called 'three-cornered' because its stem is three sided and being an allium it stinks of onion - or leek.  Geoffrey Grigson, in his Englishman's Flora, says that in the Channel Islands you can be fined if you let it grow on your land - so I guess it's pretty invasive.  (Can any Channel Islander confirm or deny?).  Roy Vickery in his Folk Flora doesn't mention it at all.  I don't remember it from childhood.

Thank you all for your very kind and encouraging comments about second jabs.  It went fine and I only have a stiff arm today, but last night I did in fact have quite a severe reaction.  However, it had gone by bedtime and I subsequently slept like a log.  It meant, though, that a short walk only seemed sensible today so I went up to St John's churchyard with its wonderful selection of wildflowers to get this for you.

Hope your day's going well  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.