Diana

Being International Women's Day, Plain Jane told us about a challenge to paint ourselves as a goddess we liked. Set me thinking. I have an affinity with Diana, the Moon Goddess who is linked with sacred Oak Groves, being a suitably moony person myself who likes groves of any sort. I don't like the hunting side of her, but she is also linked with women and childbirth. Can't imagine painting myself, goddess or otherwise, but here is my Diana with one of her dogs. You can just see the shadow of the second dog to the right. She's been with us a long time, and hope she will somehow fit in the next house too.
(these are NOT my curtains!)


Hymn to Diana

Queen and huntress, chaste and fair,
Now the sun is laid to sleep,
Seated in thy silver chair,
State in wonted manner keep:
Hesperus entreats thy light,
Goddess excellently bright.

Earth, let not thy envious shade
Dare itself to interpose;
Cynthia's shining orb was made
Heaven to clear when day did close:
Bless us then with wishèd sight,
Goddess excellently bright.

Lay thy bow of pearl apart,
And thy crystal-shining quiver;
Give unto the flying hart
Space to breathe, how short soever;
Thou that mak'st a day of night,
Goddess excellently bright.

Ben Jonson
1572 - 1637

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.