Roam

The weather has been dire today. I had planned to just go for it and get a few miles in on the bike regardless but just as I was getting ready the drizzle turned to rain and I blew it off. I'll save myself for the sleet and snow forecast for tomorrow!

I've spent most of the day hanging with youngest son so it's very appropriate that I should blip him this evening. We did a little photo shoot this morning, before he washed this contrived straightness out of his hair. It looked pretty good but it was really weird to see him like this. He's naturally as tightly curly as me but seems intent on cultivating a more sophisticated look than the totally unkempt one that I've lived with virtually all my life. I cannot remember the last time I used a comb; indeed, I'm sure it was my mother who last ran a comb through my hair - and not all that long ago. I think the state of my hair has always driven her ever so slightly mad!

Over the last year I've become increasingly aware of how much Roam looks like me at the same age, just a bit stretched vertically. I've been doing double-takes on seeing pictures of him. I see him as a good-looking young man but I never saw myself that way when I was his age. Mind you, if I look back at photographs of myself at university I did myself no favours at all with how I presented myself. I really didn't have a clue. Truth be told (before anyone else gets in), I still don't!

There is a forum post live at the moment (here) asking for our help with a bit of research in respect to how blipping helps develop a critical/reflective photographic practice. I'm not convinced many people actually visit the forum so I thought I'd give it a bit of promotion here. I'm sure Tracyellen would be very grateful for your help. I found it an interesting exercise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.