Think, try, share

By JonBusby

SR-71

A great day at the Imperial War Museum, Duxford with Oscar.

Observation #1 Lots of wives and daughters sitting around exhibits on their phones...sons and husbands looking at exhibitions.

Observation #2 I felt like I was living in one big Airfix kit.

Observation #3 Quite a few planes I thought would be big were not as big (Sunderland flying boat, Flying Fortress, Concorde, A-10 etc) and some I thought would be small are quite big (Spitfire, Hurricane, Tornado).

Observation #4 The glass memorial of US planes shot down during WW2 outside the American Air Museum combines minimalism, dignity and immensity of loss.

Observation #5 As a kid one of my favourite Top Trump sets was modern military planes. I loved the sleek design of the Lockheed SR -71 Blackbird (above). At 46, with my son, who also plays Top Trumps, I came face to face with it for the first time. 32 were built, 12 of which were destroyed in various accidents.

Loved the IWM at Duxford, highly recommend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.