Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Lynx spider dining

Oxyopes sp.

After yesterday's chrysalis blip, I decided to make a start, downloading images of caterpillars, pupae and eggs for all the butterflies in my collection. Initially it was looking like weeks of work, but the Singapore butterfly web site has documented all wherever possible. Easily the best reference for Asian butterflies, but it only covers Singapore. Still good for 90% of my collection.

I spent ten hours on this job and still have a few to find. Also I still have plenty of butterflies that have not been identified yet, but as I do, I must also store the egg, grub and pupa. I suppose I should have included the feed plant too and if I was specializing in butterflies, this would be the way to go. Hats off to true entomologists, the research involved is enormous!

Today, I fully intended following up my research with a caterpillar or a butterfly blip and I did actually collect plenty of material. But, This spider on spider image was just too good not to use (sorry Dave).

Normally the yellow argiope would be untouchable sitting in the middle of its web, in fact, I would put my money on the argiope on its home ground. But if the yellow spider strays too close to the edge then the odds even up and the ambush tactics of the lynx prevail for a healthy meal.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.