Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

History

It's been a day with family and friends, with a lovely lunch at the Lake House at Lake Hood providing good company and the fullest of bellies. Birthdays were celebrated, as were visits from family from the Old Country. What a great way to spend a Sunday afternoon.

Tonight's blip is part emergency, part reflection. Here's a collection of my history books as well as my first ever camera, a Kodak Baby Hawkeye, given to me by my grandfather when I was 7.

I remember taking this camera on holiday with me to the Isle of Wight in the summer of 1980. I can't vouch for the quality of my snaps on a camera that by then was pushing 40 years old, but the experience of loading the 127 film, extending the wireframe viewfinder and operating the flip-flip shutter transfixed my young imagination.

I seem to remember taking a blurry picture of a goat and more blurry pictures of Blackgang Chine. Maybe I should give it another run, just to see if it was the camera or flaws in my technique :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.