Don't fear the future

For some reason I feel a bit vulnerable in my job at the moment.

Blame Gove, blame changing times, blame OfSTED.

Mostly I'm blaming myself.

I work my knackers off, get good feedback from the pupils, hopefully have a good relationship with parents and my peers but still I feel a bit vulnerable.

This year has been the first time that I've considered a career outside teaching.

Constantly being checked, compared, measured against targets that get higher year on year takes its toll.

I am where the buck stops for my department.

On the other hand, I love being in the class and I love teaching. I willingly get up every morning to go in to work. There's so much to enjoy and find stimulating.

I don't want to turn into a moaner, a whiner, someone who's everyday life has been consumed by my job.

Anyway, time will sort all this out, I dare say.

Maybe I'm just going through some post malaria tablet moment and the resumption of running in aid of a marathon will sort all this out.

Apologies for venting. I don't fear the future - I just wish I had a clearer view of what is in store!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.