a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Memories

Day three  spent decorating the kitchen has once again provided little time for other things including photography.  


34 years ago this evening, I was heading to the pub in the company of my best man (my brother Brentastic - who went on to do a great job on the day) and various other relatives for what was intended to be a fairly sedate couple of beers and early night, it being the evening before my wedding to Cathy.   


Cathy and I had undertaken a run through of the vows with the local parish priest that afternoon, and she had gone to stay at her parents house where her bridesmaid was due to arrive shortly (but that's a story for another time). It had all suddenly become very real.


In practice the evening at the local pub turned out to be an absolute hoot. The gathering of my side of the family's relatives involved various Aunts, Uncles and Cousins as well as my siblings and as a result, was both noisy and extremely good natured fun.  There were a lot of us, and we effectively took over the lounge bar of the pub as a result. 



It seems strange to think that it was 34 years ago now, which I have to accept is a very long time ago. We are still very much together, and even managed to have fun decorating the kitchen together today, despite it being a real chore of a job, so we must have got something right :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.