The Dipper viewing point

over the river Bovey, the final section of our walk, but no sign of the dipper this morning, I did however get a couple of decent shots of the young male deer grazing in the field below the disused railway track before it spotted me.

Earlier I headed up to the plot ... "Morning Viv!" "Oh, hi Emily!" My allotment neighbour cycled past me on the hill. She opened the padlock to the allotment site. It's a new lock and a real faff! Once we'd got the gate open and wandered up to our plots we stopped to have a chat. She'd stood for the Green party in the local election last week so had plenty to chat about, another allotmentee WAS on the council, but did'nt make it this time. As we finished chatting I noticed there was something by Emily's feet, so mentioned it to her. "Oh my god, that's my knickers!" ... "Really??"  "They must have been in my trouser leg".  We laughed .. I thought perhaps it was her Covid mask .... Ops! :-D Hilarious!!
I was cutting some purple sprouting broccoli for ourselves & Mum, when Bobby robin appeared. I did'nt have any breadcrumbs, but managed to find a few suet pellets & a handful of seed so he was happy. Walked up to Town to pick up a newspaper, dropped that back then headed to CK. Indie always happy to see me, we walked a slightly different route across the heath today, some very pretty heath land plants appearing. We disturbed a Greater Spotted woodpecker, & a young male Roe deer, spotted a few unidentifiable birds due to position, startled a fox, & stood perfectly still soaking up the birdsong surrounding us. How lucky I am. We entered the small section of heath where the large Badger sett is situated by climbing the fence, well me, I climbed over, Indie scrambled under. We walked the section only to find the pedestrian access padlocked. ?? Perhaps the DWT are trying to deter people from this section because of the badger activity. I don't know. Anyway I climbed over the gate, Indie shimmied under. We love an adventure. :-D
Back to Mum's for a coffee, natter, walk around the garden, planning action for the coming week then it was time to head home.
First job, sow the squash, courgette, & pumpkin seed. Some from harvested seed, some purchased. I also sowed cucumber (gherkin) seed. Pricked out the Cosmos seedlings into 6 packs, potted on the sunflower seedlings from Carolyn, then moved the  squash & pumpkin pots indoors. I don't have any space left in the greenhouse, & i think they need a little more constant temperature to germinate so they are all on top of the fridge freezer, & the kitchen windowsill. The first year I've grown them from seed. Jim, who was my allotment neighbour always grew more than he needed so I never had to. I hope they like the kitchen.
Late lunch, humus, olives, & flatbread, then I caught up with the last episode of Gardener's World, & Channel 5's Carol Klein gardening programme on catch up.

Thanks to Marlieske for hosting Derelict Sunday

Now time to make dinner ...

Thank you for popping by , leaving your comments etc. It's great to be part of the community. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.