Sunflower competition

Earlier in the year, when seeds first appeared in Lidl, I challenged my fellow team members to a sunflower growing competition. Most were up for it, but 3 didn't have anywhere to grow one. So I posted 2 seeds each to 5 of them, and planted seeds for myself, and on behalf of the other 3 'garden less' colleagues. Of those that I planted, only one of my seeds is growing, and the same for one of the colleagues I planted for. For the other two colleagues, both of their seeds germinated, and today I planted them all out against my fence. This spot is sunny for part of the day. Tomorrow at our weekly get together I will share my blip with the team. We will measure them later in the year!

I've had a nice day today. Up early, shopping in Cromer then down into the town. It was buzzing with masked people going about their day. Most cafes had people outside. I wentvto the post office, then to the charity shops. On the way back i dropped in QD for a big bag of dried mealworms and other insects. The blue tit in my nest box has 11 eggs, but it appears no husband. She has been leaving the nest a lot to feed, so I hope she manages if and when they hatch. That's why I've bought the mealworms. I've put them in a nuts feeder Henry made, and added a small plastic tray to the bottom, as the worms drop through the holes. I'm pleased with it, but am still planning more for when they hatch. I need to keep Ralph well fed. Yesterday he caught a baby rabbit and devoured it, then slept all afternoon in the sun looking like I feel after Christmas Dinner!

I've spent the afternoon trying to tidy the conservatory. In Homebase I spotted a storage unit I want, but Cromer didn't have any in stock, so I'm going to go to Norwich tomorrow after work. I think it will make a big difference to our clutter. I'll rephrase that 'my' clutter!

I have 4 bags ready to go to charity, and a lot more to be sorted for a car boot sale. Eventually I just ran out of day. Roll on the weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.