2.4

An earthquake at San Godenzo on the other side of the mountain at the back of the photo. 2.4 on the Richter scale and at a depth of 9km. It was at 02.10. I was awake and had already gotten out of bed because there was a strange noise that sounded like a door being pushed.

I lay back down to sleep and a short time later there was a swishing beat of a sound like a large bird of prey beating its wings to take off.

I sat up bolt upright and went back to the window.

The world was still, heavy clouds and a strange patch of stars in the top left of the sky, spaced like pinpricks or tiger mosquito bites. The tawny owl I’d heard earlier was silent.

I went back to bed puzzled. Maybe it was another vaccine effect. It all felt a bit other worldly. Then I thought: ‘earthquake’ and sure enough on the Italian seismic activity site it was noted. About 30 km away.

Another stronger quake came later near Perugia but that was a lot further off.

We are a Zone 3 seismic risk area. They go up to Zone 1. And we have earthquake insurance.

I read some time ago that variance in atmospheric pressure can play a part in triggering earthquakes. It was 1007 mb at the time so unlikely on this occasion, particularly given the depth of 9km.

But it makes you wonder what dark forces are moving down there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.