A time for everything

By turnx3

Gorgeous music

Another cold grey day - another indoor blip! I received this CD the other day - I had heard a few of the pieces at my For the love of Music Class last quarter, and I fell in love with it - especially the 1st of the 4 Romatic pieces and the Sonatina. Dvorak wrote the Sonatina whilst living in the U.S., taking a much-needed respite from the chaos of New York City in the Czech community of Spillville, Iowa, and some of it clearly found its inspiration in American Indian music. He wrote the Sonatina in G for Violin & Piano for his children. The 2nd movement of the Sonatina was inspired by Dvorák's first visit to Minnehaha Falls in Minneapolis. If you want to hear the 1st of the Romantic Pieces, who can do so here

I have finally back-blipped all the days we were in Montreal and the Eastern Townships - please check them out - they begin here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.