digitaldave

By DigitalDave

Old Well near Copgrove

...... at least that's what I think it is.
I passed this old structure this afternoon on one of my bike rides. I have tried to do some research on the internet to find out something about it, but was unable to find anything at all. My guess is that it is situated above a source of natural spring water and the mechanism inside (see extra) was some sort of pump to raise the water. There is what looks like a faucet at the front, below which flowers have been planted. It is also directly opposite an old row of cottages too, so may have been their water supply.
It is fairly well preserved, and it is a shame there are no notices or other signs giving any information. There was no one around to ask either - very intriguing!.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.