Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Centinels

There were periods during Tuesday's walk around Airdrie when I thought, "I am glad I am doing this, so you don't have to." Let's face it, Airdrie isn't the most attractive town on the planet. (This could, of course, be said of many others.)

I had set out to see if I could plot a route around the town centre that took in most of the sites of interest and, by and large, I think I managed to achieve that. It's just that getting from 'a' to 'b' at times meant passing through some less-than-attractive locations. Hey ho, it's not Disneyland!

As is often the way with these things, though, I discovered somewhere and something new. Centenary Park, near Monklands Hospital, is a most attractive spot. The park was created in 1921 to mark the centenary of Airdrie being granted the status of a burgh and being allowed to elect its own town council. At one of the park entrances sits the Centinels [sic] (pictured) by the sculptor Lara Greene and installed in 2008.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.