Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

The Grim Sweeper

The builders finish work at 4.30pm each day.  Shortly before that, this road sweeper tours the development sweeping up all the mud and debris left by the builders throughout the day.  Admirable, you may say, apart from one thing.  In the process, it fires a huge cloud of fine mud particles, clearly too small for the filters, into the air which then settles on everything in sight!  Whenever we hear it coming there is a mad dash to close all the windows at the front so that it doesn't all settle indoors.  This is him making his second pass this afternoon; and yes, those windows are filthy; with this happening every day it's hardly worth cleaning them regularly!  The name is partially hidden behind the window frame but it is printed just below the cab window; 'Grim Sweeper'.

Many thanks for the concern about my back yesterday.  It's still painful but better than yesterday; I can now pick up my camera bag from the floor whereas yesterday I had to get a pair of kitchen tongs to reach the strap!  I reckon another day of comparative rest and it should be back to normal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.