THERE’S THOSE RASCALS!

Continuing the saga of the MOURNING DOVES:  I have posted several photos of them & even had them fly into my house.  The female built a nest over my back door, & sat on it for most of the day, then disappeared.
I worried they were lunch for our resident Cooper's Hawk.

Then, yesterday they were on my fence & I saw them roosting on another roof last night.  My neighbor told me they made a nest in her courtyard,
but a BlueJay ate the eggs.  I wonder what happens to birds, when their
eggs or chicks are harmed.  Do they mourn?

This pair of MOURNING DOVES seem as if they have lost their wits.
Maybe their erratic behavior is normal.  It's a mystery.

Wherever they are, whatever they are doing, I am always happy to see them.



 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.