Gifts of Grace

By grace

Bye, bye ducklings

Ouch! My heart hurts. Blip of ducklings in a pet carrier.

Where to start? Last year's backstory I think. The entire neighbourhood WAS ecstatic when the ducklings hatched last year. But when they all disappeared our sorrow took different forms. Neighbour Number 1 railing furious at the gulls. Neighbour Number 2 'I don't want them back. I couldn't go through that again.' I decided to love them twice as much. Which I did for all of twenty-four hours.

Today neighbour Number 2 (currently away on holiday) arranged for a Wildlife Rescue Trust to come and take them all away. I didn't agree, felt it was too much interference with the ducks' lives. And I certainly didn't like not being consulted. So I stood my ground for the entire afternoon with the animal rescuers trying to find another solution.

It's not that I was persuaded - in fact I could see both arguments - but in the end Momma duck was netted and eventually all twelve ducklings were caught and they have all been taken away. At least they are together. I hated the violence and panic of the chase, the disruption of her life - and I shall miss her. She's been a daily visitor since I moved here three years ago.

Kindness abounds? One woman's kindness is another's cruelty. Any thoughts?


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.