Queen Street Life

Queen Street Auckland on a Sunday afternoon. This is not a place I come to often, certainly not in the last 10 years or more, and it surprised me with it's vibrancy, activity and it's display of poverty.

How did a country lad come to be there? I was on a workshop run by Fujifilm on street photography. Morning of lectures, a good feed for lunch and then the cameras. There were 10 of us and each were given an X series to have a play, work ,run, bash, ? with. I had the X100s which has not even hit the shops over here yet!!

Then the masterchef challenge. 2 hours on the street to make the images. It's years since I did any proper street, and this was challenging stuff for me, not least because I was drawn to photograph some of the more difficult subjects. More so than this.

Have to say I argued with the X100s about the best shutter speed and aperture, it won on a number of occasions , but I'm sure setting aside a few minutes to learn the beast would make all the difference. Hmmm, think I need one, no, wrong. I know I need one.

And as a cake topping to make one salivate, there is a competition from these images, the winning shot takes home a fuji XF1. Got a couple of more likely candidates than this. Wish me luck.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.