100 ABSTRACTS - NUMBER 50 - HALFWAY THERE!

Today marks the halfway stage of my 100 Abstracts and of course, it just had to be a shot of my favourite model, none other than Mr. HCB.  I know he charges premium rates, but I will let you into a secret - he didn’t even see me taking this shot early this morning.

I knew he was intending to water the garden, using water from his water butts and carrying them over in the watering can, so while he was round by the greenhouse, having had my shower, I crept out and sat in the “blue corner” of our garden.  I did have my bright pink robe on and thought he would have noticed me, but he didn’t!  Mind you, he was wearing his new O’Neill sunglasses, and obviously they blocked me out completely!  

I then had a quick fartnarkle with my GoArt app and produced the middle photograph of this collage, which shows all 50 abstracts.  I am so thrilled that I am now halfway towards my 100 Abstracts, which you all know by now I am doing to raise awareness of the wonderful work that the Mamie Martin Fund does so that young women and girls in North Malawi can be supported in their secondary education.

SABOLA - her parents had divorced some years before she attended secondary school at Elangeni from 2011 to 2015 so her mother could not afford to pay the school fees. Her father had found a new wife and because of his added responsibilities, he could not afford to pay them either.  The Mamie Martin Fund stepped in and paid her fees following which Sabola worked hard and obtained excellent results in the Malawi School Certificate of Education. 

Sabola went on to study at the University of Malawi to gain her Bachelor of Science in Accounting under the sponsorship of SOKO Fund, which provides financial support in the form of scholarships to students in higher education at the University of Malawi and the University of Livingstonia, in Northern Malawi.  Of course, she is very appreciative of the help from both funds.

She believes that her career will shape her to have wide knowledge in fund management which will be a tool that she will use in giving skills to young Malawian women on how to manage their finances in setting up small scale businesses that would allow them to do their own thing rather than depend on government for employment.

Another example of the way that a young woman who has been helped is passing on her knowledge to other young women and girls in her community.

“A woman is the full circle.  
     Within her is the power 
          to create, nurture 
               and transform.”
Diane Mariechild

P.S.  After a Blip friend kindly sponsored me yesterday, I have now passed my £100 target, but if you would like to sponsor me, please have a look at my VirginMoney giving page:

https://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/MaureenIles

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.