Brown Hare

After another day resting as my ankle was still playing up, I persuaded my husband to drive me to hunt for hares in the evening again. We went back to the field I visited on Sunday morning and within a couple of minutes we saw our first hare. But as usual it was right on the far side of the field. 
All told, we spent nearly 90 minutes waiting and watching. We saw a couple more and then went for a drive down the lane a bit further, and to turn around. On the way back I spotted another one a bit closer as I yelled for hubby to stop!  This is that hare which is the closest we got, and it is a massive crop. But I am happy that at least we saw some and it wasn't a complete waste of time. I expect we will be back at some stage soon before we go away again. As well as the hares, the field also held a couple of pairs of oystercatchers, a lapwing and 3 chicks, a pheasant, many pigeons and this red legged partridge on the back fence(extras) so quite a nice selection. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.