Ralph Cooper

By ralphcooper

Low Water Beck

Low Water Beck flows out of the tarn called Low Water. It lies just below the summit of Coniston Old Man in the Lake District.

In winter the waterfalls sometimes freeze up and it can be climbed.

This is my friend and colleague Mark climbing the first pitch. Unfortunately there was a lot of melt water and the sun was already thawing it out. Even at 07:00 the sun was quite strong.

This left the lower section, shown here, quite wet and very fragile.

I bravely allowed Mark to take the lead on this bit. He did a stirling job.

Large chunks of the ice fell off as I followed. I also got quite a soaking.

Higher up it was much better. The sun not having reached that bit yet. Good thick ice allowed us to make more rapid and confident progress.

A great way to start the day.

I was up at 05:30, at the car park at 06:30, we climbed the route and were at work for 09:00!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.