SILVER BUSH LUPINE; Lupinus albifrons

I Blipped this California native shrub last year, when it was in full bloom.
This year, Angus & I walked by this house often this Spring, in hopes of seeing it in full bloom again this year.  We missed the big show, but I still love this plant, with it's silky gray-green leaves.  Miraculously,  I noticed it has a few new blooms, on the hottest day, so far,  this Summer.

There are 4 varieties of this flowering shrub, that grow best in a sunny location, but it is highly adaptable.  It grows in grass lands, foothills,
& desert habitats.  The flowers range from blue to deep purple, appearing in early to late Spring. 

Although this specimen is in a front garden, it is not very  popular, except with native plant enthusiasts.  It can endure our Summer heat, & only requires occasional deep watering, so I am surprised by this.  

Since I love every kind of LUPINE, this native makes my heart sing. 
For now, I am just happy walking by it with Angus.  If I ever see it in a plant nursery.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.