2013 in picture memories

By MoAllan

Berry Flapjacks

This is my first attempt at my friend Douglas' oat flapjack recipe.
I bought some last week at a fundraiser and cleverly ( I thought ) took lots into work to spread the calories only to have everyone at home give me into trouble for taking it away.
Just waiting for it to cool.

Here is his recipe


250g butter
250g Demerara sugar
10tbsp Golden Syrup
250g Porridge Oats

1 bag Asda's Cherry Berry mix

Melt butter sugar and golden syrup together then add the oats.

Line a baking tray with grease proof paper. I use a tin that is 320mm x 220mm, fairly deep and heavy, I think this prevents it over cooking.

Put a layer of oat mix on bottom of tray - go easy, there is only just enough of the oat mix. Sprinkle over the cherry berry mix (whole bag) then top with the rest of the oat mix. This prevents the fruit from drying up and burning while in the oven (the idea is to have the fruit in the middle and not sticking out).

Bake in the oven for 20-25 mins at 190oC/Gas 5. You want it golden on top.

Cool for 10 min in the tin then cut into the shapes you want but leave to cool completely in tin before recutting and removing from tin.

Enjoy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.