Waiting for the fish to bite

Woke up early this morning, and thought of driving somewhere very different to get a shot of the sunrise. Looked outside to see that the rain clouds had arrived in force, and there was almost total cloud coverage. Too high to produce rain on the city, but dark enough and thick enough to convince me that I would be wasting my time searching for the great Saturday sunrise.

Therefore, I just headed off on a run down to the waterfront. There, I did go to a different part. I went to the end of the Wynyard wharf, past all the storage tanks for fuel, known as the tank farm. Parked there were a number of motor caravans, the occupants not yet having emerged.

There were also a number of fishermen waiting for the tide to turn and bring fish past on the incoming tide. Some had their lines in the water already, more in hope than expectation I suspect. This pair were quietly waiting.

The sky in the distance beyond the conical island of Rangitoto (which is behind the North Shore peninsula) is showing colours produced by the rising sun. In fact the sun itself was at that time rising (behind massed clouds) a fair way to the southeast of this break in the clouds. (The colour is a bit more obvious in large) This is today's Saturday sunrise.

I am not sure what the big wheel is from. It (and its fellow, seen in this blipfolio photo) appear to be massive cogwheels, possibly from some large ship, or maybe some shore based machine. Their size is able to be judged from the fishermen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.