Colonsay.5

Another dull morning gave way to a lovely sunny afternoon, just as A began crossing to Oronsay. Not at low tide, but a couple of hours after high tide, so that she got the chance to swim part of the way. The swim not tempting me in the least, I had a couple of hours to kill so explored the Ardskenish peninsula, reaching its far tip for the first time. This gave me views like this over to (Beinn) Oronsay, but in other directions, the next land is America.

On my way back, I crossed another bay (see extra) where the road - to just Ardskenish farm - crosses the beach and is only driveable at low tide. Indeed, Django and I met the farmer, who was crossing with some new equipment on the prongs of his tractor!

It was handy that both of us had sufficient phone reception that we could keep in touch but, given the remoteness of the location, it was almost disappointing. I joined A at the priory on Oronsay, and we revisited Shell Cottage. The mist was rolling in by then, and it was a bit of a dull trudge back over The Strand.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.