OOPS!

It's NASCAR weekend at Road America. Those boys are just trickling in over today and tomorrow. The TransAm companion series is mostly on the track for Thursday and Friday.

I was shooting through a hole in the fence, which gives me a precious little amount of time to get a shot, and I can't see the cars approaching so they are on me quickly. This is what it looks like when a TransAm car coming into a corner pretty hot has a mechanical issue as he goes past you. 

Steering or brakes or some other issue caused the driver to seek the dirt driver's right instead of trying to make a hard 90° left turn at Turn 8. I suspect brake failure as he went straight past me, through a wide stretch of kitty litter and hit the tire wall pretty hard.

From the 1st image to the 3rd image the time was less than a second as he passed me at nearly 200mph a mere 6 feet away. From the 1st to the 4th image of the car against the wall no more than 3 seconds passed and the distance was close to 200 feet. They don't call where I work a "hazardous zone" for nothing.

Yes....I got covered with dirt and grass and I had some cleaning to do on my Nikon D6. This is not the first time I've looked like a green Sasquatch.

Best in Large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.