Living in Brabant

By AilsaR

What a Waste

Today it's national (spring) clean-up day. I went to join the volunteers at the local harbour; a very tranquil (and up and coming) place, one I've photographed many a time, especially during the evening.

It's provided me with some reasonable scenes, so I felt I needed to put something back, and armed with gardening gloves, several bin liners and a grabbers we all split up into teams and set off cleaning the water and the surrounding area.

Without a doubt, the things I picked up the most were cigarette butts and plastic bottles. All so very unnecessary.

The rest of our booty consisted of some of the following: one slipper (pink), one sock (black), toothbrushes (x2), plastic bags (lost count), sweetie wrappers (ditt0), tin cans, one torch, batteries, tennis ball, half a plastic window box, numerous Tampaxes, (but surprisingly no condoms). One magpie (dead), fishing bait, silly string, countless dog shit, and the saddest, most poignant of all; a dead dog :(

Lamentable really.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.