The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Gold Medal Flour

Gold Medal Flour but not a gold medal day.

A hasty business decision, made a after a brief telephone conversation a few weeks ago, led to circumstances this Friday that were amongst the toughest I have ever faced in my 31 years of business. Clearly more inquiry on my part could have led to a different result. But, at the time, I spent too little time and today I paid the price.

I know that mistakes are inevitable and that we learn from them. I constantly tell my girls to pick themselves up by the bootstraps and move on confidently into their future. But the older I get, the tougher the blow my mistakes seem to deliver to my guts. I am hopeful that we remedied the unintentional error but, in today's highly calculated business world, only time we tell.

The day ended much better than it began with the family gathered around the table partaking in one of Bonnie's seafood feasts. As always, the pups begged for scraps at our sides.

This is posted Saturday morning as nothing seemed right to my eyes last night. I am still not sure this image seems right but I wanted to record this day. I think it is important to memorialize not just the happy events of our lives. Life is simply a continuum of ups and downs and I have had an exponential number of up days as compared to the few bad ones I have had. For that, I am thankful. On Friday night, I seemed to forget that.

The sun is shining brilliantly here this Saturday and life moves happily along. I am headed to the river for a very, very long walk with the dogs. I hope to have some time here tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.