An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Sunshine substitute...

Another day of dryness, rain, dryness, with nothing but dullness in between the showers.

This little Welsh poppy (along with some of its pals) is cheering up the darkest corner of the side garden. 

It's a bit of a mystery how they got into the little dark corner as a winter jasmine was planted there.  There's no sign of it and these have appeared in its place!  I'm not complaining as the last time I checked the jasmine it was struggling (there's another winter jasmine abut six feet away and it's thriving under the same conditions so that's another mystery!) and I did mean to move it, then promptly forgot!  

Regarding the Chookie Birdie commission I mentioned yesterday, I am happy (and relieved) to have recreated my the sketch on cotton watercolour paper, in ink, and including the final details.  

Once that was done I spent half an hour testing colours to help me decide on the colour scheme.  I thought I had made up my mind but doubt crept in so I left it and I am hoping when I look at the the colour scheme with fresh eyes I the morning, the answer will be clear.

My new paints arrived and I love them!  Winsor Blue (green shade)  Naples yellow (you can imagine how gorgeous that is just from the name!  Perfect for painting this Welsh poppy :-) Hematite violet (a gorgeous neutral colour that granulates perfectly.  Ideal for tree trunks and landscapes) and finally Sodalite Genuine (a deep inky blue sourced from Greenland and the sides of Mount Vesuvius.  It's a rare component of Lapis Lazuli.)   I can't wait to have a proper play with them.


Fish and chips for tea (homemade, not chippy :-) then my main task for this evening is deciding on the main course for Saturday evening when the lovely Dr T and lovely LeeAnne will be joining me for a girl's night in.  Sadly Hel (Dogwithnobrain) won't be able to join us as she's re-injured her already injured leg!  Get well soon Hel! 


They are staying over.  It could get messy interesting :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.