Marionb

By Marionb

And Then The Rains Came....

Just as the new meds for my back/hip issue were kicking in and I was feeling that I might be agile enough to go out back and pull some weeds today, the rains came. And did they ever!  A downpour. A deluge! And there went my best laid plans - right where they usually go -  down the tube, or in this case, the drain pipe. And now, after calling it one for so long, my back yard actually DID look like a jungle...

The thunder rolled and the rain kept coming. The herbs loved it, as I am sure the weeds did too, but some of the flowers that had just started to bloom got pretty beaten down, especially the morning glory and the nasturtium; each of those blooms had been the first and only to arrive so far..and are now gone. All of the hosta will be just fine..they are tough, but they sure look bedraggled out there at the moment. 

And so, I missed my first opportunity in over a week to start working in the garden, but I did manage to transfer that new relatively pain-free energy to a sewing project I have been putting off for a long time. At last, I ventured into my sewing room to do something other than shoot blips! And now, quel surpris,  I have something to show for the day. Tomorrow? The garden! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.