The writing spider

There are a lot of large orb weaver type garden spiders that have a zigzag that goes through the middle of their web. I've always found them fascinating, though I don't want to walk through one!
I just found a site that says this is called stabilmenta. Whether it helps stabilize the web or if it's excess silk that they use up in a decorative manner is debated. Maybe it's both. https://lindaleinen.com/2018/10/15/when-spiders-write/

This very small garden spider apparently is a juvenile of those larger yellow and black ones. I think it's learning the art of writing its zigzag. This little fellow has been in the same spot for a couple days, just patiently waiting. We're expecting lots of rain tonight through tomorrow from a remnant of a tropical storm. I hope he finds some shelter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.