Poppy

Thanks for all the birthday wishes, it was back to work today.  It was a lovely morning, so the washing machine ws on early to catch up on all the wet stuff from Sunday.  It was very quiet on my pre-work walk and I was almost tempted to go for a proper walk, but I knew I had loads waiting on me, not lease a morning of back to back meetings.  I was eventually freed around 1.30pm and all I wanted to do was get up and walk around for a bit.  TT had pushed some lunch in front of me,  It was such a glorious day I popped out for half an hour to get some fresh air and sunshine.  I spotted a girl sitting working/reading – not sure what – in the cow field. Of all the place to get away from it all – I wouldn’t choose the cow field – especially when there are cows in it..
My afternoon was busy and it was 5pm before I knew it. I don’t know where the time had gone, and I still had a few things to do. Somewhere in the afternoon, BB had appeared and declared it to be a great day for a  barbeque.  He was right of course, so he persuaded TT .  My plan for tea went right out the window and we had to cobble it tougher from what we had.  It all worked out well in the end,
Later I went for a walk.  It seemed to be getting dark quite early, when suddenly the heavens opened when I was about three house from home.  I ran the last hundred yards very quickly!
Last year there were loads of these poppies which were really lovely when they bloomed.  I saw them all growing up a few weeks ago and was looking forward to them all blooming, when the Council came along and cut them all back.  What a blow.  There a few tiny poppies appearing, but this is one of the very few large poppies.  It is growing at the edge of the cow field and wasn’t cut back.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.