A day in the life

By Shelling

Breakfree

It became a long and peculiar day yesterday (backblip), full of unexpected people visiting. In the morning I heard that my friend Marianne, who runs the music events in her garden, had two people from Härnösand living in her B&B cottage overnight. I lived there for 23 years establishing myself as a teacher and the woman was one of my first students. I got to know her husband as well and we had breakfast together in Mariannes cottage before they left to north to their home in Härnösand. 

Next I had lunch with Eva, who I do one of my musical events with, we needed to discuss changes and rehearsing times for our next concert i August.

While in Kalmar I looked at the results from the sand sculpture contest that finished last Sunday. Six sculptures was made, due to corona, one broke in the finishing stage and the winner was this one,  "Horse jumping out", made by two local artists in competition with other artists from all over the world.

Then, another friend from Stockholm sent a text message and wanted to meet up in Kalmar for a fika somewhere in town and while sitting there chatting away, another friend from far away, here on a cycling holiday phoned to ask if she could stay overnight in my guest room over night before going homewards tomorrow. 

So we had a simple evening meal, talked and played music through the night and she left early this morning, hence no blip yesterday. Social life with an old friend felt more important. 

Nothing of yesterday became what I had planned when I woke up but I can do the rehearsing today instead, meeting old friends put a golden edge to any day and lasting friendships is such a good and obvious way to prove that I've done one or two good things in life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.