Courage mon ami

It was so hot I took shelter under my map after my evening swim at Carrick which followed a sweltering walk around St.Mary’s Isle at Kirkcudbright. Two well misses, the Monk’s well that was part of the Augustinian priory. Both priory and well are lost now, sadly. It would be a great spot for some ruins and a well. As it was I could have done with a machete and could certainly have done with some cool holy water. The other well was Black Moray well which isn’t holy anyway but I went to see if there was any obvious signs of it which there wasn’t and i was too hot to try harder.

I don’t know why it’s so difficult but it is. I’d booked in to a campsite a few weeks ago but bottled out and cancelled. When I saw the forecast I decided to try again but by midweek most sites were booked up. After work on Friday I checked again and saw there was a place on the community run site at Kirkcudbright that we had stayed on once before years ago. It was the cost of a day’s parking in the Lake District so I booked it and thought it wouldn’t matter too much if I didn’t make it.
I nearly turned back a few times and when I got there I thought forgotten my tent. I got the tent up and then headed off for my walk and then picked some stuff up for supper to have on the beach after my swim and walk up to our viewpoint.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.