More Bread Experiments

I started the bread yesterday, mixing whey, drained from my kefir, with flour and leaving it the rest of the day and overnight to hydrate. The kefir is live so there are plenty of fermenting yeasts etc in the whey, so when I looked the next day the flour/whey mix had doubled in size.  
I added honey, yeast, and salt and a little more flour, then treated the dough as a normal yeast bread, albeit a very loose dough.
It made delicious crusty bread, with a soft and chewy crumb. Using whey instead of water didn't seem to make much difference although it must increase the protein in the dough.
It was a litlle hot for baking but cooler weather still seems a long way off and I ws getting bored with commercial bread.
The rest of the day...?  Gardening of course, helped by a cool wind.
I also published yesterday's blip a few minutes ago. Taken at the beach and showing people actually in the sea. Not so common in this part of the world!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.