Andy's Photo Journal

By andmoff

Botanic

With Dawn out in the hills in the pissin' rain I opted for an indoor option and packed the boys up and headed to Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum in Glasgow.... it was shut. In fairness maybe the rest of the world doesn't get up at the same time as us on a Sunday. So we wandered up to the Botanic Gardens for a wee wander whilst waiting for the gallery to open. What a nice wee find it turned out to be as well. Definitely worth a visit.

The boys loved the museum and gallery as well. Particularly good was the interactive Raoul Dufy exhibit explaining the process for the painting of this painting. The fact it was sitting just inches from the boys (as well as a Picasso, OK I'll admit I was bricking it) added to the experience. The Cezanne's, Monet's, Gaugin's, Derain's etc were a bit lost on them though.

One thing that struck me (as well as some other Scottish Galleries/Museums's) was the total lack of photography as the prime exhibit (not supporting material). I'm guessing Scottish curators still need to catch up. I was very disappointed in GoMA the last time I was there; it had been purged of photography last I was there, and I can't remember seeing much in the Royal Scot either. It's like the last 50 or so years have passed some Scottish curators by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.