Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

A Recently Invented "Tradition"

Ceridwen & I have both discovered Irish Potatoes. They're available pretty much everywhere in the city for the St. Patrick's Day week and they turn out to be delicious.

The basics are shredded coconut, cream cheese, butter, confectioner's sugar, and cinnamon. The ones we got at a store were good, but these here, made by Ceridwen herself, are over the top.

The funny thing is that I've lived here for 30 years --and I'm Irish-American --and I swear, I've never heard of Irish potatoes until this week. It's being promoted as a "traditional Philadelphia confection," and yet when you poke around for it on the internet you only get references to a company called Oh Ryan's of Boothwyn, Pennsylvania. No history --just where to get the candy! They have nothing to do with Ireland and contain no potato.

A tasty trick played on our palates by real American leprechauns!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.