Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Grey Pansy

Identification - Junonia atlites, grey pansy.

I rarely get photo opportunities for this interesting butterfly, so I was pleasantly surprised to find out that it had not been blipped by me before, I was very happy too, as I had nothing else and was going to have to go out in the sun for a second safari.

As butterflies go, this species is quite flitty and difficult to approach. The wings were in constant motion, opening and closing. I took about 15 shots, timing the shutter release as best I could. I was lucky to get one good shot out of the session, in fact, better than any previous session too.

After collecting the available shots, I had the option of trying the blowing on the wings trick, but given the butterflies shyness, I decided to get down and try for a side view first, however the sound of my creaking bones, struggling to the ground was too much and she was gone for good.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.