Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

First Thing in the Morning

It was too hot, even at 6:00 am, so I sat in the garden after getting up early.  Because there is a neighbour's Leylandii hedge behind us the sun has to make more of an effort to reach the garden first thing.   There are only occasional shades of light that penetrate the garden first thing and it was one of these that illuminated the rose bush.  

I received a call from San Jose, in America this morning from Adobe.  A curious thing had started to happen with my files when I import them into Lightroom.  I like to rename them in to folders for each day but a few weeks ago I noticed they weren't numbering them sequentially, according to the capture time.  A web chat last week failed to find an answer so the matter was escalated.  

Apparently, and I'd never noticed this before in the import dialog, I now have to make sure that the images are sorted by capture time (rather than the default of file name) if I want to rename them and for the new numbering system to be correct.  I was still scratching my head why, as the files in the import screen were still in order from the first to last image recorded whichever way they were sorted, but it is clear it makes a difference if you are renaming the files.

We popped out to a new pub for lunch, the Nelson Inn just outside Burntwood and had a lovely meal (big portions).  Certainly one we will visit again.  After that a modicum of retail therapy and then back home and into a thankfully cooler shaded garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.