Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Balls!

Another cloudy start to the day, but we’re getting used to just knowing that it will warm up later, and we don’t need to bring a cardie with us when we go out.

JR took Archie out for a walk after her workout at home. We were meeting a friend for lunch in town, so I set off earlier to walk via the Post Office and a decent coffee at Kauai. JR arrived, bringing my bus pass, which I forgot. Just as well she did, because the venue was not the nearby branch of the well known chain that I thought, but was right in town.

Our pal always wants to go to this particular tapas restaurant, which is extremely popular. We’ve been several times, but as there are so many much more interesting places to try, we wouldn’t have chosen it. And actually, I chose the wrong things, so it’ll be a while before we go there again! However, it was great to catch up with our pal.

From there we popped for a coffee, and a delicious chewy brownie to take away the taste of the deep fried batter (which I didn’t eat). And then I had an ice cream before I got the bus home. JR stayed in town to do a bit of browsing, but by this time it was so hot!

I chatted on the bus to a woman from the Wirral. Now, I love the Liverpool accent (being a Beatles fan) but through a mask, it was almost impossible to understand her, so I nodded a lot, but I think she was enthusing about her holiday in the city.

Archie and I sat in the sun in the back garden until JR came home. The young lass next door was out the back practising her tennis. Archie was confused but happy to see all those tennis balls!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.