andalusian stitch

Many years ago I thought it a good idea to purchase a knitting machine and practised  by making strips of three different patterns. Maybe I could make enough for a knee-rug or even a blanket.

Change of circumstances: we moved house and I lost the little room in which the machine was set up and it was consigned to the attic. Now and again, when time permitted, I continued making strips by hand, still of three sections with at least one of navy blue and assorted colours in the blue spectrum, mainly obtained from charity shops.  Then all work ceased and for a few years the completed strips lay undisturbed consigned to the attic.

 Then - the miracle of lockdown! All that time to catch up on neglected crafts gave me the idea of completing the blanket and out came the knitting needles once more - not, you will note, the machine, as I still have no-where to set it up permanently.

After a while I became bored with just garter stitch and recently have varied the stitch patterns using the 'Mon Tricot '1100 Stitches and Patterns' book, which contains far more than I need but enough simple patterns to make life interesting.

And here we are, introducing yet another blue-spectrum colour in shades of emerald (how had I not thought of that before making so many with turquoise?) so have a few more to make before laying out all the pieces for the final design stage.

When the idea was first mooted the blanket was intended for Miss Flum, as Master Flum was yet a babe in arms. Time has passed and the Flumlet is now older than was either little Flum.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.