Kluft

A friend dropped by to quickly fit some guttering on a building we re-roofed last year and at the same time to take a look at the roof of a shelter I had re-roofed late last year which came to an abrupt halt when I realised there wasn't enough fall to use old concrete roof tiles. I could measure about 1° and the textbook says one needs 25°.

Had then planned to buy metal roofing but somehow hadn't got around to it and now with all the chaos of Corona, ships stuck in the Suez, shortage of containers etc, building materials have doubled in price. So wanted a view on what to do. It was decided as I had done such a good sealing job with asphalted paper, and it was an uncritical roof, we would use the tiles after all. It is planned that the swimming pool heating pipes will be on the roof.

The photo is of his "job dress" known for people in the joinery, roofing, woodworking professions as the "Kluft" which I have described before. There is no central zip, but please don't ask me how 'it' happens!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.