Drugs...

You should see the other guy!!

Thank you so much for all your kind comments and support yesterday... I'm really overwhelmed by the blip love... even the erections although I'm not sure spending the day with my scabby face on the spotlight page, especially given it was there first thing was all that pleasant... apologies if you lost your breakfast!!

You can probably skip the next part... it's more for my own memory and possibly TMI!!

I had the worst night's sleep... went to bed at half ten and woke up at 1.42am in pain. I got up and took some paracetamol but it just doesn't scratch the surface excuse the pun. I lay awake for a loooong time, I probably should have just got up and watched TV or something but I lay there trying not to cry... my logical brain telling me that puffy eyes would not be a good look and a snotty nose I can't blow would be even worse. I suspect I made myself bleed a little either coughing or attempting to blow my nose... I realise all of this is too much information but if it happens again I want a record of what happened.

I googled 24 hour pharmacies in Edinburgh in the middle of the night and contemplated calling NHS 24 to see just what I could take in terms of the drugs I have in the flat without causing serious damage. Then I decided I was being ridiculous and should man up and get a grip. Then I thought about how shit it is to be single when you're poorly. Then that started a whole other train of thought best avoided so I took more paracetamol, a couple of nurofen and a swig of cough medicine out the bottle... classy I know!!

I think maybe I dozed a bit, the last time I looked at the clock it was half four and the next time it was half six. I got up then and waited for my GP surgery to open. They told me that they had no appointments. I explained that I'd had surgery yesterday and I really needed to see someone, miraculously an emergency appointment became available. I got there and when the doctor asked how he could help I simply said that I'd like some drugs. He was a tad surprised that the hospital had sent me home with no pain relief and very kindly gave me a prescription for Tramadol and Co-codamol and suggested I just work out which were best or take a combination of the two, wrote me a line for work and looked up my records to see when I first had the lump looked at... October 2007!!

I came home, had some breakfast (eating is weird... my face is a bit stiff and I can't actually get my mouth open that far so taking a bite of something isn't as easy as it should be) but I managed obviously cause I was starving and then made myself a cocktail of pain relief and what a relief it was. I can't even begin to describe how bad it hurt in the night. Now I think perhaps I'm just high. They've made my mouth really dry but I don't suppose drinking a lot I've given the wine a swerve for now will do me any harm. I've tried to stay awake, I don't want to sleep all day then be up all night but I'm fading a little now. I have my specs perched on the top of the padding, I dare say that's going to be a problem when the dressing comes off tomorrow night, although I may leave it till Thursday morning so that I don't find myself scratching in the night as I did when I had the biopsy done. That's made my blood run cold just thinking about it.

Apologies once more for yet another grumpy looking SP... it hurts a bit to smile and the blur is pretty much what I'm seeing out of my right eye - that and it disguises the fact that I've not washed my hair!! I've never had a black eye before... well it's turning sort of purple and the swelling has gone down a bit since I first got up this morning but it still made people stare at the surgery and in the chemist. I'm tempted to make up some elaborate story but I'll wait and see what it looks like underneath before I decide on a tiger attack or something more twisted!

29 sleeps!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.