analogconvert13

By analogconvert13

Roosterbrood. Lumix M4/3 14mm.

We had excellent weather this weekend, and this time I was all prepped to light up the grill.  We have seen so many of my grilling and smoking sessions here on Blip that I won't revisit my grilled chicken thighs or summer squash.  But today I tried something new.  In Afrikaans the word is Roosterbrood, or bread baked on the grill.  It is a staple side dish for a traditional South African "braai", or barbecue.  When lockdown started last year, I took to making up a supply of gluten-free focaccia dough to keep on hand in the fridge.  The recipe has proven to be so good and flexible, that I use this dough for pizza crusts, for focaccia when drizzled with olive oil, for tart crusts, and starting today, for roosterbrood.  In South Africa, this usually takes the form of a bread roll which is sometimes stuffed with a sweet or savory filling.  But the idea is the same: the dough bakes on a low fire until it sounds hollow when tapped.  I brushed mine with olive oil, and as I'd rolled the dough out quite thin, the breads came out looking like pita.  Chewy in texture and slightly smoky, they made a perfect accompaniment for the chicken.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.