EgyptUnveiled

By EgyptUnveiled

Can you see the glitter?

What started as a seemingly disastrous start to the day, developed into a very valuable lesson.

In a nutshell. What does a girl do when she is feeling fed up? Shop (Of course)

Some may go to a mall, a boutique, indulge in exquisite chocolates or fine wine...Me? I go to the souk (Market) and buy 3 kilos of oranges for approximately 50p and a glittery pair of gel shoes for 1GBP. BUT, the fun I had buying these things, instantly cast aside the negativity of the previous hours.

A deep and personal conversation with an Egyptian friend, resulted in my spirits being lifted and his too, I truly believe. People here are very good at pleasantries and do not want to share their inner feelings/problems. Now, some are more willing to talk about them, as they are more and more daily issues and struggles.

A visit to a wholesaler, I knew about, but had never been to before, showed me what was on offer to the tourist bazaars. I watched how the owners of the bazaars bought their stock and the prices of the items. I see the markup now and know a little more about how it all works.
I bought a fabulous tunic, for a spectacular price and will return to buy another...SOON!

I needed a copy of my passport, so stopped at a shop I use for various things. Most shops here on the West Bank, tend to sell almost everything, from a battery to a brooch, to a diary, to jewellery.
Our conversation began about how we both were etc, until a bird from a telephone line above, dropped a poop on my head!
This nasty, but jovial incident, instantly made her share open up and share a very personal problem she had (For 10 years now) that was clearly causing her distress and which she needed to talk about.

I went for fathla (Threading on my face to remove the hair) As I was leaving, a man entered the shop, holding a briefcase. Clearly he was not from Luxor. He was well dressed, quiet and had incredible teeth. He was a dentist from Syria. He had arrived in Luxor recently and was trying to spread the word of what he did and of course earn some money.
I found it quite emotional to speak with him, knowing (Only a fraction) of what he and his family must have been through to be at this stage in their lives.

A photo I submitted for a website, has been approved and I received messages from the photographer himself, expressing words of encouragement and positivity.

Free dinner was provided this evening at my local restaurant? I was also given a bottle of perfume by a friend....there were so many more things that happened today, a smile, a nod, a joke, the offer of help etc...

What started off as a dismal day, has ended on me realising what incredible people live on the West Bank of Luxor and what their friendship means to me.

The man, from whom I bought my shoes, insisted that I take his photo and so I share it with you. The unique experience of shopping in an Egyptian souk.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.