Rawhide - Keep them Wagons Rolling

The Wagon and Horses pub in Twyford is situated next to one of the fords (now replaced by bridges) that give the village its name. The Wagons would have been carrying wool destined for London, hence my obscure homage to Clint Eastwood in the title of this Blip. The village was until the 20th century on the main route between London and the west. Fortunately there is a bypass now as the roads were designed at a time when motor transport was not even a dream.

The Pub is situated at the western edge of the village, hence it is not one of my regular haunts as I am towards the eastern side. This is a very typical country pub with low ceilings, oak beams and a stone floor. It has a lot of character, though I don't know how old it is. I decided to have a walk today and reward myself with lunch at the Wagon and Horses. Truthfully Twyford is not a very large village, and it only takes me about 10 minutes to walk there.

It is a hazardous journey though, or at any rate it feels like it. There is still a lot of traffic on the Old Bath Road despite the bypass. The roads in the village are only just wide enough for two vehicles to pass each other, and the pavement only wide enough for one person. Vehicles feel like they are going very fast as the fly past a few inches from people on the pavement. Of course when I am driving I don't get et the same sensation, it is a 30 mph limit after all. Fortunately they do have to stop at the junction in the centre of the village.

Blue sky for much of the day today, and the sun was not at the best possible angle to the pub when I took this shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.