Sugar Magnolia

By cew

Last weekend a man who was visiting our Tearoom asked me if I knew of a Moose statue that we had on our mantel over the fireplace for sale in 1955 for $75.00.
I told the man I didn't know anything about this moose and have not seen any pictures of it.
A few minutes later the lady who was with this gentleman asked if I could ever find out about this moose she would really appreciate it. If I could find out where the moose was and maybe get some pictures of it.

Of course I thought it was an outlandishly crazy question but I decided to go to Brenda and ask if she recalled such a moose.
To my surprise she said yes, she had it in her living room.

The lady didn't want her friend to hear what we were discussing so I quietly told her that I would get pictures of it and send them to her. She was so happy I thought she was going to cry. I couldn't understand why she was so emotional.

The next day she called me to see if she could come and see the moose and touch it because she is a wood carver and wants to carve the moose for her friend. She said that he speaks often of this moose and how he has always wanted it all these years!!

She went through a family tragedy 3 years ago when her son, a police officer, was killed on duty. She felt that she could not go on without him and went through a lot of pain.
This man helped her tremendously over the last 3 years and she feels if she could make this moose for him it would in some small way show him how much she appreciates him.

So here is the moose, waiting at the tearoom, until this lady comes to visit it.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.