Timanfaya - Montañas del Fuego

We took a drive round the South side of the Island on Monday. I'd hired a little car in case we wanted to travel but to be honest, in spite of it being against my nature to stay still for days on end, I wanted a holiday that was reading in the sun and watching the sea. I didn't want a schedule!

But we did start to get restless legs and so took ourselves off for a drive and ended up at the Timanfaya - The Fire Mountains.

Lanzarote has over 100 volcanoes, many of which were created during a series of devastating eruptions over a 6 year period in the 18th Century. The landscape in this area was amazing. Craggy razor sharp layers of black molten stone, then smooth brown sand like structures. Wells that produced incredible heat, colours like bruises and sunsets.

The next stop was the tiny town of El Golfo for lunch and a wander down to the beautiful black beach and the eerie green lake that is coloured by algae but looks like a toxic horror.

Up till now I've struggled for photo's on this break but on this trip out I could have filled 2 weeks in one day!

So far this has been a wonderful escape. The weather has been hot in the day but cool at night. Food not great in the tourist front but awesome if you can find it. Can you believe that one place, in a prime location with a captive audience, served an Irish coffee with instant coffee and uht?

I've got some reading done, much wandering, avoided the burn, pretty much let my stress disappear into the sunshine :o)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.