Old Timer..... A Relic, Antique.....

A Great Day!    A very Long Day.  I left Macon, Georgia this morning and got on the road.   The traffic around the city of Atlanta was just awful, but I got through and headed North west.   One of the most magnificent sights was to see a part of the Blue Ridge Mts..  They have a beautiful blue hue from the sun light, especially when there is low humidity   I took some time to diddle around there and just enjoy  the beauty.  I then got back on the road and headed towards Nashville.   Before I got there I stopped to eat, unwind and then get back on the road.  I noticed I needed gas, so I stopped at this  gas station.
          When I got out of the car I saw the old, old gas pump......     It goes way back to when the pump could only pump one kind of gas.   If you look closely, you will see that pump #1 and #2 could only pump regular gas.  I don't even remember seeing that kind when I was a kid!!!!     It was the fastest tank I fuel I ever got :-)))))))
     I then headed my car towards Nashville, Tennessee .  This time I hit the afternoon traffic going home.   It was another tense and tricky ride as everybody wanted to be in the same spot, at the same time, to beat the upcoming exit!!!!    Whew!  I was really glad to be out of there.
      I then headed towards Springfield, Illinois.    I got about half way between the 2 places when I decided I was hungry and tired.   Time to find a  motel  with a clean bed, some food, and a shower.
       Extra ! was a beautiful little church and steeple sticking up above the trees.     The 2nd extra was something I saw at the restaurant last night.  It is an advertisement for shoe laces that was bragging about the super strength of them, for a nickel,  or 5 cents, American.    
The ad then said that if you were willing to pay a dime (10 cents) the upgraded laces would last nearly, forever!!!!!     I got a really good chuckle over the ad........

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.