Nellie Travels

By Padstowbabe

A wee trip down memory lane.

When I was still at school and wanted to be a vet I was told by the Uni to gain experience with farm animals...not an easy task when you don't know any farmers!!

Through connections of a friend at school I went to a dairy farm...loved it and went to work there every holiday. When I was there I met the local vet and started to see practice with him. When I qualified he offered me a job for six months. I was so lucky because at that time not a lot of girls were being offered jobs in a mixed practice. After the six months...on Halloween....he waited until I had dressed up and made a right prat of myself going round farms because I thought I wasn't staying....and offered me a full time job!!!

Anyway some of the buildings that you can see in the distance in this shot are the dairy farm buildings...although it is no longer a dairy farm but now a beef farm. It is a stunning setting for a farm!! I spent many happy holidays milking cows and delivering milk. I would get up and walk the cows in for milking through the fields on the other side of the road from the sea...just out of the picture on the left...and watch the sunrise! I learned to drive there and fell in love with this area.

Without going there I wouldn't be here today....wouldn't have met my husband..... or had my beautiful children. I don't visit often now but today it was so good just to see it all again and remember.

Nellie had the best time careering about the beach too!!

Sometimes it's good to remember!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.